Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Sharon Howe said...

40%
20%
40%
60%

Stayed 3rd May 2014

My sister and I booked this night away as a quiet spa break as I was recovering from an operation, I didn't check the spa had space as we were going sat to sun and thought we could fit in anywhere both days. Spa was totally booked out for a hen night of about 40 on the sat and not open on the sun. Upon arrival we heard a couple complain they had a twin instead of a double, when we got to our room we had a double instead of a twin! Hotel was full but eventually they changed us to a larger room and put a Z bed in for my sister, which she said was totally uncomfortable. Rooms definitely need updating and there was ground in dirt on bathroom and room floors and window ledges. Told had to book for dinner and turned up to find no reservation had been made. Staff all running about short staffed and found out one waitress had walked out. Was awake most of the night with hens running around the floors from 2am till about 4 and was on the verge of packing up middle of the night and leaving. Neither of us got any sleep. Perhaps should be noted on Classic Britain if there is a tribute night on as we wouldn't have booked it. Assistant Manager did all he could to help with room move and checked at dinner how we were, food ok and breakfast good but stood at 'wait here to be seated' at front of restaurant for over 10 mins with staff walking by and ignoring us, we eventually just walked in and found our own seat. Definitely not the quiet night we wanted

muriel paterson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and spacious and the food was fantastic. Would definitely recommend, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Jayne Geddes said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2014

All the staff polite and helpful , and I felt at home , can't wait till we book again .

Elizabeth Newey said... Hotel has replied

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 19th April 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel! I booked months ago and asked the hotel to keep our 4 double rooms near each other as we were celebrating 3 very special birthdays and the rooms weren't even on the same floors....a "new system" didn't allow them to allocate rooms...very poor excuse. One of the rooms was a twin, not double and my bathroom had a leak through the ceiling!! The meal was average apart from the dessert which was awful...sticky toffee pudding that your spoon wouldn't even go through. They didn't go out of their way to try and correct any of these requests and the manager was aware of how unhappy I was. Maybe a bottle of wine at our table would have been nice! It has put me off booking with your company if this is the standard of accomodation on offer. As a family we go away 4 or 5 times a year to hotels and I'm afraid the Angus will not be one that we will be returning to!

Hotel reply...

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You did indeed ask that rooms were close together if possible, unfortunately this could not be provided, A request for rooms on the same floor is not guaranteed and we try our best to accommodate requests but they are not always possible. It is very rare that we receive such a low grading. I as manager was not aware of the problems you encountered and received no formal approach until this review, had I been, I would have done all possible to rectify the situation, we are not a successful hotel by disappointing our customers.

Elspeth Oliver said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Tribute weekend very good value

Elaine McInally said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Enjoyed our stay will return but will opt for better room.

JENNIFER BELL said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Shower in bathroom could be bit more updated poor power and shower screen instead of shower curtain.

Amanda O'Toole said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2014

Lovely Hotel, absolutely spotlessly clean, spa really good, friendly atmosphere & very helpful and approachable an all round wonderful weekend away, would definitely go back.

Kate Beattie said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Very good value entertainment weekend. Freindly staff clean and welcoming hotel. Centrally located for shops bars and scenic walks. Would definitely return.

Kim Martin said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Excellent Weekend, staff very friendly, rooms were clean and nice comfy beds! Food was good. Tribute night was well organised. Will definitely be visitng again

S Bell said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Fantastic weekend well worth the money

DEREK SLESSOR said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st March 2014

Very enjoyable stay with very good staff who made you very welcome.Good choice of meals both breakfast and dinner. As promised we received a room upgrade to the front of the hotel where we enjoyed the view of the busy square.Hope to return for tribute break.

winifred stronach said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will without hesitation recommend your hotel.The staff especially the assistant manager were all very helpful and friendly.

Tom Adams said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2014

very nice time had by all

craig bell said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2014

Booked a superior room, paid extea

Karen Shaw said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2014

Booked through Classic Britain again and no problems. Have visited this hotel before and we are still impressed. Good value, great staff, and food is scrummy..

M Scanlon said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2014

I was pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of the room however, I was totally unimpressed with the toilet facilities. The window in the bathroom had no blind or curtains, no privacy as the window was overlooked by the wing next to our room, the patio area I personally found this unacceptable. I have made the hotel aware of how I felt - room 36.

Terry Glen said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd March 2014

Bedrooms could do with a bit of updating but apart from that the Hotel could not do enough for you . Would definately go back and recommend it to people

teresa johnston said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st March 2014

Very nice and cosy hotel service excellent

Lynn Rooney said...

47%
30%
70%
40%

Stayed 21st March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and this time I was very disappointed. The room was small and not the cleanest. The bed was done and should have been disposed of. The mattress was badly stained and very hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. I did advise reception of the bed but did not get much reaction. The food had gone downhill too, with the chef seemingly unable to cook a decent steak. I had to send it back twice. The staff however, were very pleasant. All things considered I would not consider revisiting.

William Middleton said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 14th March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Angus Hotel, we have been there before and the location of the hotel is central to the town. The tribute nights are good value for money. Food was very good but portions could have been a bit bigger, especially for men. Choices at breakfast were limited if not a lover of fried breakfasts. I would recommend this hotel for a short break away..

Alexander Monteith said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2014

Enjoyed our stay, good food, friendly staff, clean rooms if a little dated. Only complaint was the bill on leaving overcharged by

Rona Verrall said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2014

have stayed here previously and definitely would again

David McMurray said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Good food, staff excellent very attentive, all round a very good week-end. Will definitely go back again.

ron cooper said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th February 2014

good value for money, will book again