Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Barony Castle Hotel, Peebles

Eddleston, Peebles, EH458QW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Patricia Cook said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th January 2022

Had a very enjoyable stay. The room was comfortable and spacious overlooking the rear garden. The food was excellent and beautifully presented both at Dinner and Breakfast. All staff were ever so friendly and helpful, dealing with their tasks in an efficient manner.

AUSTIN BARNETT said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2021

The most noticeable aspect of the Barony, aside from its delightful setting, comfortable rooms and facilities, is the staff. Every single person on the staff were friendly, helpful and joyful. The hotel grounds are also pretty amazing. We had a DBB deal for two nights and on our full day enjoyed a spectacular 7 mile walk setting off and returning ton the hotel. Definitely on our list to return at some point.

John Anderson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Great value, service and location. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks

John Mcivor said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2021

Fantastic place to stay, dinner on both nights was lovely, big portions too.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2021

just back from a 2 night break at this hotel, having read mixed reviews about this hotel we were a little cautious about our booking, but we needn't of worried the place was great , the staff were all brilliant and the food was outstanding. we will be back again soon, well done Barony Castle

David Arthur said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2021

Lovely room. View could have been better. Food great.I had the DIY STEAK TWICE. Breakfast plentiful & tasty. Staff outstanding.

H McNulty said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th November 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was excellent as was food and staff and service was excellent.

Beth Murphy said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Had a really good couple of nights away. We had been to the Barony Castle previously although it was a few years ago. It was just as good as we remembered, The food was very good (particularly the breakfast). There are lots of things to do in the local vicinity depending on how energetic you are feeling. We would recommend this hotel to friends.

Louise Quinn said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2021

A lovely stay at Baroney. The food in the restaurant was fantastic with a great a la carte selection as well as the bar menu being available in the restaurant. The staff make this place, everyone we came into contact with couldn't have been any more helpful.

Teresa Marie Kendall said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2021

Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, and food was delicious. Only one thing spoilt our stay, there was a very yappy dog in the next room. That aside, I'd definitely stay again.

Kathleen Murray said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2021

Arrived just in time for check in Staff on reception gave us all the information we would need for our two day stay. Booked dinner for 8 went to the bar to be greeted by a very friendly and courteous young man name escapes me maybe Dylan , menu was very good and we thought of it tasted as good as it sounds if would be fabulous , well it was fabulous and quality was of a high standard , main courses came out on very hot plates and were still hot when being cleared so again a plus point , the restaurant was busy but the service was fast but not rushed , second night was just as good as the first after taking some recommendations from the bar staff again top quality food and service, would definitely stay here again although the rooms were a bit tired but all you need is a clean bed and a decent shower and both were good . So no complaints from us and plus point Peebles was only 5 minutes away would thoroughly recommend a visit to this hotels in the beautiful borders

Allan Connelly said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Fantastic couple of nights!! Staff were so friendly and helpful you really felt nothing was too much trouble for them . Food was delicious and so well presented. Leisure facilities were excellent we spent a very relaxing couple of hours at the pool. The only thing that let the hotel down was the dated decor of the rooms but they were spotlessly clean so that was a minor issue . We will definitely be back and will certainly recommend to friends .

A guest said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2021

We had a lovely stay, staff were great

Cherry-ann Lindsay said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Fabulous stay with great staff and food.

Alexander Parkinson said...

85%
70%
100%
N/A

Stayed 12th October 2021

Hotel a little tired but food and service excellent

John McLean said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

Overall we were disappointed with our visit and not value for money. Room a long way from reception made worse by shortage of room keys so second key was refused. Room small with half size midget wardrobe. Room not clean. Bathroom heater not working so cold bathroom. Only early or late dining times available with early dining sitting spoiled with three tables in dining room with babies and young children resembling more a crèche. On the plus side the food was good and staff very friendly.

Colin Powell said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Great food, nice room if a little dark , staff welcoming. Throughly enjoyed our two night stay, loved the haggis.

Isobel Syme said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2021

Very nice hotel with delicious food. Room was a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint. Lovely surroundings and area.

Marnie McCrone said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2021

Lovely stay. Food was exceptional and staff were very helpful. Room was a bit basic, but clean. However we had such a good deal it was well worth it.

Fiona Butcher said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

Had a very relaxing 2 nights at the hotel. Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much bother. A special mention for Greame in reception. He alway addressed us by our names which I thought was a lovely personal touch. Food was amazing. We hope to be back again soon. We'll worth a visit.

Elizabeth Jess said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2021

Stayed at this hotel for a girly weekend. Hotel was excellent and staff were amazing and couldn’t be more helpful. Food was delicious Will definitely stay again

Angela Collie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2021

We had a fabulous few days at the hotel. Staff were excellent and went above and beyond when we had an issue with our room. Food was excellent and I would definitely stay here again.

RobertFay Gardiner said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2021

Hotel was lovely and beautiful grounds but the weather didn’t do it justice. The breakfast was really delicious and hot. The dinners were good too. Would stay again but maybe earlier in the year.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Food was excellent and bar prices reasonable. Staf friendly and professional. Made the mistake of not booking a table for dinner in advance, so would strongly advise doing this. Only negative point being the bedrooms could be doing with an upgrade.

Margaret Cameron said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th September 2021

Spent a lovely couple of days here. The hotel was very busy, but that was not detrimental to the service received. The food was very good and the fact that you could mix and match from the a la carte and the bar menu was a bonus. The rooms were much in keeping with the style of hotel with the furnishings being very traditional and they were kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff. Being an old historic building it might be useful to mention if you were of reduced mobility as some rooms are a fair walk to reach, but this did not bother us. All staff were very helpful. I would not hesitate to return.