Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Barony Castle Hotel, Peebles

Eddlestone, Peebles, EH458QW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Mrs Kearns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

would highly recommend this hotel stayed twice love the location. lovely staff food good

Geoffrey Leatherland said...

40%
10%
40%
70%

Stayed 12th July 2019

the staff where a mixture of very pleasant and quite miserable.the food was good but i have to say the bedroom was the worst i have ever had.i had a chat to the receptionist about this but the reply was because of the wedding there was little she could do. room 125 to be exact .i have had many breaks with my hotelbreak but this has to be the most dissapointing stay i have ever had.

Claire Taggart said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th July 2019

Great hotel, beautiful location and very helpful staff. Not my first visit and certainly not my last ?

Marilyn pollock said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th June 2019

Nice hotel with lovely settings we will be back

Linda Main said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

Lovely hotel, very clean, good food, relaxing and beautiful grounds. Some parts could do with a bit updating though.

Anna Mullen Anderson said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

The hotel was lovely staff was really nice but not a quiet night away I was hoping for as there was a wedding on and some of them was a bit to loud

Mary Aitken said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2019

We had a lovely time food good staff lovely and hotel lovely

Louise McGill said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 16th May 2019

Room in need of refurbishment. No lift to the bedroom, not great when you have mobility issues. Room very hot and window wouldn't open. Pool was nice but again very warm with no fresh air and no changing rooms.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2019

On arrival at Barony Castle for a 2 night break we were unfortunate in as much as it was a cold, wet day.The reception at the hotel was much the same. The receptionist stated that the reception staff have no way of knowing if your room is ready although the hotel was not busy. We had to wait until five minutes to three before we could go to our room. All other staff and receptionists were very friendly and made our stay very pleasant. The room we had was recently refurbished to a high a standard and the public area’s were also to a high standard.

H Sievewright said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2019

Comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. Quality of food was amazing. Top tip if booking on a 2 course deal always ask if you can choose from the a la carte have the menu. We were not made aware of this and only knew about it after we ordered when other guests asked and were told that they had a £23 allocation of the a la carte menu. We unfortunately also had a fire alarm and this was dealt with efficiently although compensation of a free drink for the trouble would have been nice. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful luxuary break.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2019

Positives first- the staff, food at both dinner and at breakfast all very good. Bedroom extremely tired looking, spa facilities very small.

Tracey Millar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2019

We had a fantastic stay at Barony Castle. The suite was beautiful, staff lovely and food delicious. What more can you ask!

Shaun Gallacher said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Excellent DB&B, wine and canapés deal! Beautiful scenery! Highly recommended!

A guest said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

The staff were super friendly and very helpful. The food in restaurant was delicious and the cook your own steak is a Brill idea. The location is stunning and the river next to hotel was just so peaceful we had to leave our window ajar overnight to listen to it. The rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Disappointed that with oversized sofas in bar that there was not enough seats to enjoy a drink after meal, so we had to return to our room.

Marie adele cassidy said...

64%
60%
50%
80%

Stayed 1st March 2019

Had a lovely stay would definitely stay again

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2019

Lovely overnight stay with canapes, wine, dinner, bed and breakfast. Rooms were comfortable and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Don’t mind a buffet breakfast but would prefer tea/coffee and toast brought to the table.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2019

What an amazing hotel from the moment we arrived greeted by lovely staff.Room was beautiful very large nice corner bath breath taking views ,we had dinner great choice and delious used the leisure facilities lovely walks around the grounds.Would definetly recommend and will certainly be back

Brian Smail said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Arrival - check in was smooth and our room was ready for us even although we were more than an hour ahead of our check in time. We had booked dinner for 20.00 and had e mail confirmation for this time but were told we were booked for 20.30 - and the only explanation - that’s the only time available? Room - comfy large bed. Furniture a bit tired and could do with being replaced. Bathroom could do with updating also although it had a decent shower. Did find the floor exceptionally squeaky - in our room and our neighbours. As they moved about it sounded as though they were right there in our room. Guess they noticed the same as we moved about. Small fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks - nice touch. Bar area - great service from the staff. Decent selection of beers, wines and spirits. Very busy over the two nights we stayed and difficult to get a seat. The seats look inviting - couches and individual soft seats BUT beware - when you do sit in one you’ll be sitting a few inches off the floor? Not great for eating. There are booths on the lower level of the bar which would have been better for eating at but all were full. Strangely there is a massive wooden table (probably would seat 10 or so people) right in the middle of the floor - maybe think of replacing that with a few smaller tables and chairs. Selection of food to be served in the bar was good. Restaurant - had dinner here on our first night. Service was very good as was the food. Our package included a 2 course meal. You can get “an allowance” for that and use it against the cost of food from the a la carte menu - nice. Breakfast each morning was good - hot buffet (bacon,sausage,eggs etc) or small continental selection. Friendly staff. Good service - used dishes removed quickly. Grounds - worth a wander round particularly to have a look at the now restored map of Scotland.

Carol Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2019

Booked the hotel for a girlie night away on the winter b&b deal with a free glass of wine each accompanied by spring rolls and haggis Bon Bon’s which were delicious, We received a warm friendly welcome on arrival and our room was large and all amenities we needed. All staff were friendly and received excellent service throughout our stay, we ate in the bar area and the mushroom and garlic pizza and y chips come highly recommended, unfortunately didn’t get a chance to have a spa treatment as fully booked but hopefully get one on our next visit. All in all a great stay. The town of Peebles is only a 10 minute drive away.

Linda Crawford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2019

Enjoyed every aspect of my two night stay the room was very clean and comfortable the food in the restaurant and bar was great also the selection at breakfast was vast the walks and building has very interesting history. I would return in a heart beat loved it

Kimberley Duff said...

40%
20%
100%
0%

Stayed 25th January 2019

I found this place I found very run down bedroom carpets very dirty and could see the dirt that’s left after hoovering. Bathrooms needing a upgrade very run down seals around bath dirty and brown in colour. Changing rooms in swimming area very dirty one shower and shower curtain disgusting. I will not be back Thanks Kimberley

Petrhona Carroll Macleod said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th January 2019

Well i was very disapointed with our stay, we were on the 2nd floor, when you opened the door to go along the corridor it smelt very musty, we got ready and went to the gym for it a bit, it was basic but ok, into the pool which was a bit of a weird set up, shallow at the sided slopping deeper in the middle, quite small, only one of thr fragranced showers worked, went back up to our room to get ready for dinner, our shower leaked over the floor, food was nice but small portions for the price, part of our package was wine and canapes on arrival we got 4 haggis balls between us. Back up to our room to a very uncomfortable bed, the mattress was too hard, room was like an oven. we were woken up at 1.15am with the guests leaving from a 21st birthday party, the were shouting, singing, using vehicles as drums, the cars that were collecting them were revving engines and roaring off down the drive. Every floorboard on our level squeeks, we heard other guests walking back and forward, wall were paper thin, the people next door must have walked the floor ALL night and talked. The coffee machine didnt work but made a lot of noise, certainly not what i expected. We struggled to get WIFI and i couldnt even read the book on my kindle. I had to laugh at one of the information booklets in the room it read "enjoy the peace and quiet at Barony Castle"......im still waiting to find that, what a total waste of money and very disapointing to say the least. i think if there is a function booked other guests should be made aware of potential noise

Brian McLaughlin said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd January 2019

thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay, rooms warm and clean, staff friendly and helpful.

Alison Craske said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 2nd January 2019

Lovely post NewYear break to the hotel. Spoke to Lorraine on reception to book spa treatments in advance as bd also about dinner reservation. Helpful and cheery. Bar and restaurant staff also cheery and attentive. We enjoyed our stay, thank you!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2018

Had a lovely overnight stay, the main positive the hotel is the staff they were all so lovely and attentive. We both had the steak and it was one of the best steaks we had and more than enough we didn’t manage a pudding. Would definitely go back.